Board of Education Election

9 Board of Education candidates run for 3 open seats

Three seats on the Board of Education will be up for election on June 9, and those terms are currently held by: Kate Czarnecki, David Gibbardo, and Jody Gillette. Gillette is not seeking a fifth term, and we want to take this opportunity to thank her for her 12 years of volunteer service to the community and our students.

Nine candidates are running for these openings, and the three highest vote-getters will serve from July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023. 

NYS Executive Order No. 202.26, stated that no minimum threshold number of signatures would be required for individuals to be placed on the ballot; however nominating petitions must have met all other requirements. Candidates will be listed on the ballot alphabetically, therefore are listed in alpha order here. 

Meet the Candidates 2020

A traditional Meet the Candidates forum was not an option due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however each candidate agreed to offer a virtual introduction, as well as responses to the same two questions for voter consideration. The videos appear in alphabetical order as they will on the 2020 absentee ballots.

Each candidate submitted information for voter consideration, and may be reviewed by clicking on their names.

Kate Czarnecki
Christopher Ferrari
David Gibbardo
Denis Johnson
Michael Mayer
Zachary Miller
Lori Stone
Randal Weaver
Karen Zyra