Special Education

Spencerport is committed to identifying and evaluating all students with disabilities (ages 3 yrs. to 21 yrs.) in the District who may need support services to ensure their success in the educational program. Spencerport strives to provide appropriate educational programs and services to meet the needs of all students.

Federal and State regulations additionally prescribe procedures to be followed with students who have disabilities. Even without laws mandating these programs, the school district recognizes its responsibility to reach out to students who have special needs.

Special education services are provided under the direction of the Director of Special Education. Before students are classified, Response to Intervention Teams or Instructional Support Teams (IST) ensure that all general education resources are utilized. The teams collect data and consider all findings to support referrals to the Committee on Special Education.

The district is also responsible for coordinating evaluations and services for preschool students suspected of having a disability.

To obtain assistance in understanding the special education process and your rights as a parent of a student with a disability, call 349-5140.

Contact Information:

Andrea Pascuzzi
Director of Special Education
apascuzzi@spencerportschools.org

Maria Dougherty
Elementary Coordinator of Special Education
mdougherty@spencerportschools.org

Michael Sorbera
Secondary Coordinator of Special Education
msorbera@spencerportschools.org

Lisa Nielson
Administrative Assistant
349-5140
lnielson@spencerportschools.org

Donna Bianchi
Administrative Assistant
349-5142
dbianchi@spencerportschools.org

Sandra Bernhart
Administrative Assistant
349-5144
sbernhart@spencerportschools.org

Fax: 349-5040

Follow Us On Twitter: @RangersSpEd

  

Andrea Pascuzzi

Mrs. Andrea Pascuzzi
Director of Special Education



Michael Sorbera
 
Mr. Michael Sorbera
Secondary Coordinator of Special Education


dougherty

Mrs. Maria Dougherty 

Elementary Coordinator of Special Education